5.—Representation in the Senate of Canada, by Provinces, as at Mar. 1, 1930—concluded.

Names of Senators.	Post Office Addresses.	Names of Senators.	Post Office Addresses.
Quebec—concluded. Blondin, P. E., P.C	Montreal.	Manitoba (6 senators)— Sharpe, W. H	Maniton
Chapais, Thomas	Quebec.	McMeans, L	Winnipeg.
Webster, L. C.	Montreal.	Bénard. Aimé	!Winnipeg.
Béland, H. S., P.C	Ottawa, Ont.	Schaffner, F. L	Winnipeg.
Bureau, Jacques, P.C	Three Rivers.	Molloy, J. P	
	Montreal.	Forke, Robert, P. C	Brandon.
Raymond, Donat	Montreal.		l
Paradis, Philippe J	Quebec.		
Omtools (At ts-s)!	1	Saskatchewan (6 senators)—	N T.
Ontario (24 senators)!—	0	Ross, James H	Moose Jaw.
Belcourt, N. A., P.C	Ottawa.	Laird, H. W.	Regina.
Gordon, Geo	North Bay.		Moose Jaw.
Smith, E. D	Winons. Dinleaston	Coldon I A D.C.	Ottawa, Ont. Regina.
Donnelly, J. J Lynch-Staunton, G	Hamilton	Calder, J. A., P.C	Whitewood.
Robertson, G. D., P.C	Walland	Gillis, A. D	WHItewood.
Fisher, J. H	Paris		
White G V	Pembroke	Alberta (6 senators)—	
White, G. V. Foster, Sir G. E., P.C	Ottawa	Michener, Edward	Red Deer.
Macdonell, A. H	Toronto.	Harmer, Wm. J	Edmonton.
Hardy, A. C.	Brockville.	Griesbach, W. A	Edmonton.
	Toronto.	Lessard, P. E	Edmonton.
Haydon, Andrew	Ottawa.	Buchanan, W. A	Lethbridge.
Murphy, Chas., P.C	Ottawa.	Buchanan, W. A	High River.
Lewis, John	Toronto.		
Rankin, Jas. P	Stratford.	1	
Graham, Rt.Hon. George P.,		British Columbia (6 senators)	
P.C	Brockville.	Bostock, Hewitt, P. C	Monte Creek.
McGuire, William H	Toronto.	Planta, A. E	Nanaimo.
Spence, Jas. HLittle, Edgar S	Toronto.	Barnard, G. H	Victoria.
Little, Edgar S	London.	Taylor, J. D	New Westminster.
Lacasse, Gustave	Tecumseh.	Green, R. F. Crowe, S. J.	Victoria.
Horsey, H. H	Cressy.	Crowe, S. J	Vancouver.
Wilson, Cairine M	Ottawa.	N .)

¹One vacancy.

Subsection 4.—The House of Commons.

In section 37 of the original British North America Act of 1867 (30 Vict., c. 3), it was provided that "The House of Commons shall consist of one hundred and eighty-one members, of whom eighty-two shall be elected for Ontario, sixty-five for Quebec, nineteen for Nova Scotia, and fifteen for New Brunswick". Further, under section 51, it was enacted that after the completion of the census of 1871 and of each subsequent decennial census, the representation of the four provinces should be readjusted by such authority, in such manner, and from such time as the Parliament of Canada provided, subject to and according to the following rules:—

- (1) Quebec shall have the fixed number of Sixty-five Members;
- (2) There shall be assigned to each of the other provinces such a Number of Members as will bear the same Proportion to the Number of its Population (ascertained at such Census) as the Number Sixty-five bears to the Number of the Population of Quebec (so ascertained):
- of the Population of Quebec (so ascertained);
 (3) In the Computation of the Number of Members for a Province a fractional Part not exceeding One Half of the whole Number requisite for entitling the Province to a Member shall be disregarded; but a fractional Part exceeding One Half of that Number shall be equivalent to the whole Number:
- (4) On any such Re-adjustment the Number of Members for a Province shall not be reduced unless the Proportion which the Number of the Population